top of page

How to Survive a Rough Patch

How to Survive a Rough Patch

Weekly Report 24

This week was somewhat of a difficult week regarding ISM. Although I now have mentor, I have yet to meet him from the first interview. This has thus slowed down my final product and after discussing with my teacher, I had to ultimately downsize the project. Instead of implementing a program, I would create a program that may or may not be implemented. I knew from the beginning taking on a big project would be a risk, but I still want dot attempt it but I realized it is better to spend more time learning in depth than struggling in the end to complete it.

I am partially surprised that I agreed to this myself. Usually even when it seem impossible to complete, I push myself even harder to be the best. But I think there were a number of reasons that stopped me this time. Overworking myself, would also mean overworking my mentor and that was something I did not want, nor could I do. Next, I already have a lot on my plate. Balancing school, SAT, volunteering, among many other activities is a struggle. So I need to prioritize. Not that ISM is not a priority but should I pressure myself to finish a final project that would require double the time when I could still learn a lot from a simpler one? No. Finally, I don’t feel like I am missing out in a lot of knowledge. By creating a plan, I still learn about the patient's general care and other aspects that would pertain to a career. I just may not get the glory of seeing it actually come to life. And I am ok with that. I signed up for this class to learn, not to show off and try to one-up everyone else. And that objective was and is being achieved.

Now I probably am always going to wonder what if even after final presentation night is over. Given the opportunity, I do hope the plan ends up actually being implemented in numerous hospitals because it can provide positive results. But even if does not I am grateful for the opportunities present and that I was even able to contribute that much erach and information to the medical industry. I am excited to see how the rest of the project turns out, as currently research is slow. But by taking to my mentor, I am getting further and can't wait to see the end result.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page