top of page

Nerves for the Night

Less than a week till final presentation night! Time flies! I can not believe that my year in ISM is almost over but, i guess it isn't really. I still have the most important night left, so there is still much to enjoy. I am slightly nervous about final presentation night. Not really because I will be speaking in front of 20 people, but more because I will be speaking in front of one specific person: my mentor.

Throughout this year, my mentor has impressed me time and time again, through various forms. I was impressed when he said yes to be my moment because I know that a pediatric surgeon is busy and him saying yes was incredible for me. I was impressed when I Found out later that he is the Chief of Surgery at Plano and again, when I found out he was the Director of the Center for Pectus and Chest Wall Anomalies. Yet again, I was impressed when I heard about the many surgeons he performed both in the past, and upcoming. Essentially, through out my mentorship experience with him he was constantly impressing me by doing all these incredible things and still making not only time for me to sit with him, but helping my so much throughout the way. So, for me, final presentation night is showing him that not only did I listen and learn from him, but I applied that knowledge. I want to impress him and show him that the year he invested in me was truly worth it.

Of course I am aware that this is a lot of pressure, but this part (speaking in front of my mentor) is really the only part I am nervous about final presentation night. I am not nervous to speak in front of a crowd of people, or give a 30 minute speech, or by questioned by an audience on anything related to my field. ISM has prepared me for all of that and I could not be more excited to show the world what I learned. At the end of the day, I am sure my mentor will be at least appreciative of the effort that has gone through by now. I am sure if I stop thinking about it and just have fun wit the night, everything will go exactly as planned of if not better. It’s good not to be nervous because it shows that you care. And I definitely care but I just need to make that nerves and use it to my advantage and make it the best final presentation night possible.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page